top of page
Search
  • Anita Mogaka

Meet Tyeshia Coopwood, Founder Of Portable Toilet Odor Solution, POTTY Pearls!


Since 2016, Tyeshia Coopwood has been working tirelessly to create better bathroom experiences. Using her chemistry minor, Coopwood invented a discrete, portable air-freshner called POTTY Pearls. They’re even TSA-approved!


Coopwood has been a contestant in Project Pitchit and POTTY Pearls also earned a $10,000 investment from Young Enterprising Society’s The Blueprint. You can order your very own POTTY Pearls here.


Learn more about Tyeshia Coopwood and POTTY Pearls below.


How did the idea of POTTY Pearls come about?

In 2016 I went into a stinky bathroom and my sensitive nose had enough! I was frustrated that no product existed that truly neutralized toileting odor. Some old co-workers gently pushed me into entrepreneurship by challenging me to pursue a solution.


How has being a full-time entrepreneur been different from having a 9-5?

Three months ago today, I walked away from my job! Going from employee to full-time entrepreneur requires a mindset shift. Initially liberation caused me a couple moments of anxiety, not because I didn't trust my capacity, but because there literally were no boundaries to how I could run my life...that was scary! Once I realized that my compensation in life comes from providing value, the anxiety had to cease because in order to share value with others, I, myself, must have value first.


If you could do anything differently on your entrepreneurship journey, what would it be?

Wholeheartedly, I wouldn't do anything differently. I am a firm believer that my life is divinely orchestrated. For that reason, I believe everything in my life had to happen to get me where I am today.


How do you continue to grow and develop POTTY Pearls?

I think of ways to provide more value to my customers. Our mission is to provide better bathroom experiences. And that includes everyone, from young to old.


What does your daily routine look like?

I have structure, but I don't...let me explain. First thing every morning is prayer. I have two running lists: What's Important vs. What's Important Right Now. I only check email twice a day. How much inventory I have determines how much time I'm spending in my manufacturing space. In a day, I give total focus to two additional business tasks besides email and manufacturing. That's the foundation, everything else is fluid.


What’s been your greatest challenge with POTTY Pearls?

My greatest challenge has been delegating work to others. I'll cross that bridge when I get to it :)


What has been the most rewarding part of growing POTTY Pearls?

The most rewarding part of growing my business is the mere fact that I manifested one thought. We have 60-80,000 thoughts a day. That's a huge risk betting on 1 in 60,000, so the reward is great.


What does Black Excellence mean to you?

To me, Black Excellence means undeniable resiliency. Having the heart and execution to be as great as you know yourself to be, regardless of anyone's permission, recognition or validation.



148 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page